The Harvest Moon Consortium

A NeverWinterNights Guild and Player community

This forum is for those using the Creation Toolset

Adding a Working Armor Mannaquin to the game

Postby Winterhawk99 » Sat Sep 22, 2012 5:59 pm

I've been adding alittle to the breezewood home and picked up how to do an armor mannaquin for the game. I thought I should put down a tutorial before I forget how to do it so here goes.

A step by step guide to armor mannaquins.

The first thing you want to do is lay down a Mannaquin where you want it to go.

1. go to your pallette hit all then enter PlayerHouseMannaquin and place it where you want to place it like this.

Image
CTP team member
http://www.harvestmoonconsortium.com
Chief cook and bottle washer for Harvest Moon
User avatar
 
Posts: 1284
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2009 12:00 am
Location: Pa.
Offline

Re: Adding a Working Armor Mannaquin to the game

Postby Winterhawk99 » Sat Sep 22, 2012 6:05 pm

Ok, I didn't make the best background choice but you can see the the Mannaquin.

The next thing you want to do is go back to your filter and put in Xmarkerheading.

You'll want to put that right beside the mannaquin and turn it so that the arrow on the marker is facing the same way as the head on the Manniquin.

Image
CTP team member
http://www.harvestmoonconsortium.com
Chief cook and bottle washer for Harvest Moon
User avatar
 
Posts: 1284
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2009 12:00 am
Location: Pa.
Offline

Re: Adding a Working Armor Mannaquin to the game

Postby Winterhawk99 » Sat Sep 22, 2012 6:11 pm

In Step 3 you want to bring the last piece you need to make everything work.

You want to select the Mannaquin.

Then go to the top of the Ck. You will see a box with a T in the middle of it.

Select that Box.

A panel will appear asking you to write in or select a trigger.

put in MannaquinActivateTrigger into that box and hit ok

Image

You can see the little box with the T is depressed and after you hit ok a red box should materialize around the Mannaquin like this

Image

This ends the first part of the tutorial bringing together all the 'Objects" you need to make this all work. The next part is linking everything together so that they all work together in game
CTP team member
http://www.harvestmoonconsortium.com
Chief cook and bottle washer for Harvest Moon
User avatar
 
Posts: 1284
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2009 12:00 am
Location: Pa.
Offline

Re: Adding a Working Armor Mannaquin to the game

Postby Winterhawk99 » Sat Sep 22, 2012 6:46 pm

The Second part of the Tutorial is Linking all the objects together for them to work.

Select the Mannaquin and hit Edit.

Find the tab 'Linked ref ' in the Box that pops up and select that

Again double click in the space which will bring up your small selection box

in the small selection box hit ' Select reference in window '

Select your Marker (the big red box) with your white crosshairs

Image

When finished the Mannaquin editor should have a new line in Linked Ref like this

Image
CTP team member
http://www.harvestmoonconsortium.com
Chief cook and bottle washer for Harvest Moon
User avatar
 
Posts: 1284
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2009 12:00 am
Location: Pa.
Offline

Re: Adding a Working Armor Mannaquin to the game

Postby Winterhawk99 » Sat Sep 22, 2012 7:05 pm

The 2nd Link you want to make is also on the same board for the Mannaquin.

This time you want to go to the edit board and select Activate Parents.

First select the box on the screen that says Activate Parent only its just below where you double click. When you hit it a check mark will appear in the box.

Then double click the column just like the first link this time you will select the Activation trigger.

Image

Your entry should look like this

Image
CTP team member
http://www.harvestmoonconsortium.com
Chief cook and bottle washer for Harvest Moon
User avatar
 
Posts: 1284
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2009 12:00 am
Location: Pa.
Offline

Re: Adding a Working Armor Mannaquin to the game

Postby Winterhawk99 » Sat Sep 22, 2012 7:17 pm

Link 3

This time we are going to Edit the marker

Bring up the editing box on the marker ( The large red box )

Select 'Linked Ref'

Double click the window

Select the Mannaquin

hit Ok

When you bring up the editor it should look like this

Image

The entry when your done should look like this

Image
CTP team member
http://www.harvestmoonconsortium.com
Chief cook and bottle washer for Harvest Moon
User avatar
 
Posts: 1284
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2009 12:00 am
Location: Pa.
Offline

Re: Adding a Working Armor Mannaquin to the game

Postby Winterhawk99 » Sat Sep 22, 2012 7:32 pm

We're Almost finished. Two more things to do.

The first is now you want to open up the Activation trigger Editor and go to a new tab called 'Primitive'

There is a box off to the right called Player Activation. You want to hit that button and ok and exit out of the editor.

Here is a pic.

Image

And the Last think is to move the marker so that it is centered around the Mannaquin like this

Image

That should be it. Go into the game and test your new shiny armor stand out :)
CTP team member
http://www.harvestmoonconsortium.com
Chief cook and bottle washer for Harvest Moon
User avatar
 
Posts: 1284
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2009 12:00 am
Location: Pa.
Offline

Re: Adding a Working Armor Mannaquin to the game

Postby Bannor Bloodfist » Sun Sep 23, 2012 12:14 pm

It looks like you created a fairly detailed tutorial here, but we have to teach you how to handle graphics. Your text in all of the screen shots has been degraded by conversion to .jpg. I would highly suggest changing how you work with the screenshots.

Take them with whatever you are using for your capture program but only save them in .PNG format, and use no compression at all. Then edit them with whatever editor you are using and save them (after you are completely finished with the editing) as .jpg with minimal compression.

The reason I am saying this is that the auto-conversion stuff on the website re-compresses everything again, and it really trashes screen shot text.

I need to get you a copy of the prorgram that I use for screen captures though, it makes adding those balloons around the text VERY easy, you just drag it around what you want. You can then add your own text as well, directly to the screenshot etc, cut/trim out sections you don't want/need[ etc.

There is a free trial version of ]Snagit which is the program that I have. I don't know what version I have a copy of, but it is the full program and it is several years old. Wonderful utility. It will allow you to capture just a menu when you click open a menu, or a full screen, or just part of a window etc, VERY easy to setup and the editor that it auto loads the screen capture into is very powerful for creating the tutorials etc. It is the program I used to create 99% of the screen shots for all the tutorials here. Of course, since we lost/re-loaded the many of those tutorials, some extra conversions were done and some of the detail was lost again.... but you can tell the difference if you compare a couple different older tutorials with some of the latest ones that I created AFTER we finally had this particular website.

I have been attempting to get you to try this software out for a couple years... looks like I will have to have Angel sit down at your computer and install it for you, then make sure you at least try it out a few times.

Just remember, we have the same issues here with compressing, reloading and recompressing images that we run into with NWN. Each time you import/export an image file, recompressing it, we lose detail to the point that screen shots become basically useless. Then add the auto-compress/auto-convert that is setup for this website and we really lose the quality.

We need to find a new manager for the back-end of this website again I guess. See if there is anything we can do to prevent too much data loss.
CTP Team Lead
User avatar
 
Posts: 1327
Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2009 11:45 pm
Offline

Re: Adding a Working Armor Mannaquin to the game

Postby Winterhawk99 » Sun Sep 23, 2012 3:58 pm

Thanks Bannor,

What I've been doing is capturing them with the main program then pasteing them into gimp. I blow them up somewhat then convert to .jpg. After that I take them into paint shop pro which has more advanced editing systems and doing most of the work there. From there I put them onto image shack where I can link them to the sight using the BB code {img ] {/img].

Next time I'll try not compressing them to the very end. and use PNG
CTP team member
http://www.harvestmoonconsortium.com
Chief cook and bottle washer for Harvest Moon
User avatar
 
Posts: 1284
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2009 12:00 am
Location: Pa.
Offline


 

Return to The Creation Toolset


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron